'Stop the Crash'

And raise awareness

  • by onRoute
  • Jan 15, 2016
  • 288
  • News

Today vehicles must meet new car safety testing standards to be awarded a top safety rating of five stars. In Europe, the basic requirement for achieving this rating is crash avoidance and mitigation systems such as adult and child occupant protection systems, and pedestrian protection systems. Vehicles must also have assistance systems such as Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Autonomous Emergency Braking Systems (AEBS), and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) systems for a five-star rating.

Since seatbelts, ESC, tire pressure monitoring systems (TPMS) and AEBS became mandatory for commercial vehicles; the total number of road traffic fatalities, injuries and accidents has declined significantly. The Global New Car Assessment Programme (NCAP) is leading the drive to improve road safety with innovations, continuous refinement, and improvement of components and systems. To achieve the United Nation's target to cut half of all road fatalities by 2020 the need to promote the fitment of ESC, AEBS, and Anti-lock Braking Systems (ABS) is even stronger.

Throughout the 'Stop the Crash' campaign, Global NCAP and its partners will be holding driving demonstrations to raise awareness about the benefits of safety technologies that are already being volume-produced. They hope to encourage their adoption in subcompact and compact models too. 

‘Stop the Crash’ is a global campaign that aims to raise the awareness of state-of-the-art safety systems and life-saving technologies.

The aim is to achieve further steady reductions in the number of traffic fatalities, injuries, and accidents on a global platform.

The 'Stop the Crash' campaign officially launches on 18 November 2015, so keep your eyes peeled and ears open!